Skip to content

Political Correctness Part 1

November 3, 2014

My now 10yo son joined a new swim team.  A young  10yo female also joined this same swim team (moved from California), and I am going to begin  this post about political correctness with an anecdote about these two swimmers.   The anecdote I am about to tell deals with the dangers of political correctness which runs amuck throughout the culture.  Political correctness liberates falsity, and imprisons truth.  It is political correctness which is enshrined by the culture as the greatest paragon of virtue.  I suspect political correctness motivates the authors of the many USA’s swimming BS articles on their website.

As I have stated on another thread, my son is a decent swimmer with BB and B times.  He is no superstar, and I suspect will never be able to reach NCAA caliber kind of swimming (I believe the official statistics is that he has only a 1/14 chance at swimming in the NCAAs).  I have no worries about this…12 other swimmers along with my son won’t make to the NCAAs for every swimmer in the NCAAs.  I love watching him race, and look forward to cheering for him at every meet to do the best he can do….which I think overall is pretty good….I am a realist…his performance isn’t in the top 10% to say the least.

I have rarely been around any swimmers with better than A times, which touches upon elite….until recently.   The 10yo girl who joined my son’s team is better than elite…she is ultra-elite.  In fact, she is a AAAA quality swimmer, and yes, you can tell a big difference comparing her swimming to my son’s.  My son swims 35 sec 50 yard freestyles.  She swims under 27 seconds.  My son’s best stroke, the breast is about 47 seconds for 50 yards.  She can do it in 35 seconds.

I knew nothing about her when she arrived at her first practice.  But I watched with great interest how effortlessly she glided through the water.  Her great form, and smoothness was self evident.  As she streamlined off the wall, she would often surface way beyond the 10m flags.  I knew I was watching 10yo greatness….that she was something special.  I asked her  parents how old she is….and found she is about 5-6 months older than my son.  I was amazed.  She has swim times that would make most 14 yo’s proud.  She is really an Olympic possibility…2 years for her first trials, and 6 years for her second.  I hope she stays on the team for the next 2 years, because I want to see her develop for the trials. I’ve become a fan.  I joked with her parents I may have to ask for an autograph sooner than later.  She is easily in the top 10 yos of this nation and it doesn’t matter what stroke…she has AAAA times in all of them.

In her first meet for her new swim team in her new state, she set swim meet records and AAAA times for every event she swam (8 in all).

Anyhow, as I was leaving that first practice…I looked at the coach, and said, “Well, you got something special there”.

He looked me back into the eye, and said, “They are all special”.

THUD!

It harkens back to a animation movie, the Incredibles.  Dash’s Mom who won’t let the superhuman Dash go out for sports.

The  dialogue between Dash and his Mom:

Dash: ….. if you’d let me go out for sports.

Helen: Honey, you know why we can’t do that.

Dash: But I promise I’ll slow up. I’ll only be the best by a tiny bit.

Helen: Dashiell Robert Parr, you are an incredibly competitive boy, and a bit of a show-off. The last thing you need is temptation.

Dash: You always say ‘Do your best’, but you don’t really mean it. Why can’t I do the best that I can do?

Helen: Right now, honey, the world just wants us to fit in, and to fit in, we gotta be like everyone else.

Dash: But Dad always said our powers were nothing to be ashamed of, our powers made us special.

Helen: Everyone’s special, Dash.

Dash: [muttering] Which is another way of saying no one is.

THUD!

Dash is right.  The word special per Webster means:  “better, greater, or otherwise different from what is usual”

Between my son’s swim coach and Dash’s mother, Helen, truth is sacrificed on the alter of poltical correctness.

Yes everyone is special because everyone is different.  But that was obviously not the context of the word “special” I was using when speaking to my son’s swim coach about this young 10yo girl.

The special I was referring to is “better, or greather than from what is usual’.  The coach knows it, but rather than glorifying, and celebrating this  truth, and taking great joy in the future of the prospects of this young girl, he crushed the word special and emptied it of value,  He elevated average to be on the level of greatness….you can have no winners and no losers with Political Correctness.  Having been brainwashed by the PC culture, he equivocated the word “special” , and made the heavenly, mundane.

What does it matter?  Its only age group swimming.  There should be no winners or losers.  Hell, I have no idea why they have timers?!?.  Oh, that’s right…because USA swimming needs to exist as a monopolistic governing body to collect dues….but that’s another topic.

Shame on any one of you who think this.

End of Part 1.

From → Politics

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

